Heights Libraries is offering lots of new computer classes and learning opportunities this summer!

Coventry and Noble – we’re bringing computer classes to you!Coventry Classes: Technology Terms & Vocabulary Wednesday, June 7, 2 p.m. Internet Safety & Security Wednesday, June 21, 2 p.m. Microsoft Word: The Essentials Wednesday, July 12, 2 p.m. Microsoft Excel: The Essentials Wednesday, July 26, 2 p.m. Microsoft PowerPoint: The Essentials Wednesday, August 9, 2 p.m. Microsoft Publisher: The Essentials Wednesday, August 23, 2 p.m.; Noble Classes: Technology Terms & Vocabulary Wednesday, June 14, 2 p.m. Internet Safety & Security Wednesday, June 28, 2 p.m. Microsoft Word: The Essentials Wednesday, July 19, 2 p.m. Microsoft Excel: The Essentials Wednesday, August 2nd, 2 p.m. Microsoft PowerPoint: The Essentials Wednesday, August 16th, 2 p.m. Microsoft Publisher: The Essentials Wednesday, August 30th, 2 p.m.

Registration opens two weeks before the date of the class.

Can’t make it to class? Need some technology help? A Technology Trainer will be available to answer your technology questions after class. No need to register. Feel free to drop-in and ask!


Need to brush up on your Microsoft Office skills?

Check out our Essentials classes. These one-day classes will teach you the basics of Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and Publisher:

  • Word: The Essentials
    • Thursday, June 1, 7 p.m. @ Lee
    • Saturday, June 17, 10 a.m. @ Lee
    • Wednesday, July 12, 2 p.m. @ Coventry
    • Wednesday, July 19, 2 p.m. @ Noble
    • Saturday, August 19, 10 a.m. @ Lee
    • Tuesday, August 29, 11 a.m. @ Lee
  • Excel: The Essentials
    • Saturday, June 3, 10 a.m. @ Lee
    • Thursday, June 15, 7 p.m. @ Lee
    • Wednesday, July 26, 2 p.m. @ Coventry
    • Wednesday, August 2, 2 p.m. @ Noble
    • Saturday, August 5, 10 a.m. @ Lee
  • PowerPoint: The Essentials
    • Thursday, June 8, 7 p.m. @ Lee
    • Saturday, July 8, 10 a.m. @ Lee
    • Wednesday, August 9, 2 p.m. @ Coventry
    • Wednesday, August 16, 2 p.m. @ Noble
  • Publisher: The Essentials
    • Saturday, July 22, 10 a.m. @ Lee
    • Wednesday, August 23, 2 p.m. @ Coventry
    • Wednesday, August 30, 2 p.m. @ Noble

Registration opens two weeks before the date of the class.


Learn the language of computers with expanded coding offerings!

Coding is used to create your favorite websites and apps. This summer we’re offering coding classes for all ages!

Teens in grades 6-12 can learn the basics of HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and PHP in Web Coding for Teens, held on Tuesdays in June at 2:30 p.m.

Those in grades 1-5 can explore code.org on Mondays at 7 p.m. from July 10 to July 24. Bring your favorite adult and explore code.org‘s fun, educational games.

Adults can learn Coding Basics on Thursdays at 7 p.m. beginning July 6. This four-week class will cover the basics of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.

Registration opens two weeks before the date of the class.


Discover your family’s past and preserve your family photos for the future.

Learn about genealogy, scanning, and more – Fridays this summer at Heights Libraries!

  • Genealogy Online
    • Friday, July 28 at 11 a.m.
    • Friday, August 25 at 11 a.m.
  • Scan Your Family History
    • Friday, June 23 from 1 to 5 p.m.
    • Friday, July 7 from 1 to 5 p.m.
    • Friday, July 21 from 1 to 5 p.m.
    • Friday, August 4 from 1 to 5 p.m.
    • Friday, August 18 from 1 to 5 p.m.
  • Working with Digital Images
    • Friday, June 16 at 11 a.m.
    • Friday, July 14 at 11 a.m.
    • Friday, August 11 at 11 a.m.

Registration opens two weeks before the date of the class.


Start your weekend at the library with Saturdays @ 10

Learn the essentials of Microsoft Office

Want to brush up on your Microsoft skills before a job interview? Don’t have a lot of time in your busy schedule? These one-day classes will teach you the basics of Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and Publisher.

  • Word: The Essentials
    • Saturday, June 17, 10 a.m.
    • Saturday, August 19, 10 a.m.
  • Excel: The Essentials
    • Saturday, June 3, 10 a.m.
    • Saturday, August 5, 10 a.m.
  • PowerPoint: The Essentials
    • Saturday, July 8, 10 a.m.
  • Publisher: The Essentials
    • Saturday, July 22, 10 a.m.

Registration opens two weeks before the date of the class. Sign-up for these and any other computer classes at heightslibrary.org or by calling (216) 932-3600.

Get expert advice with Ask a Tech Trainer

Computer questions answered, problems fixed, eBooks explained, tablets tamed. All your technology related fear calmed with our expert help. A Technology Trainer will be available to help you in the lobby. This is a drop-in service; no registration required.

  • Saturday, July 15, 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, August 12, 10 a.m.

Become an expert with Lynda.com

Learn about Heights Library’s free service, Lynda.com, a learning company that provides engaging, top-quality courses taught through videos. The classes are taught by experts in the areas of business, software, technology, and creative skills. Held in Lee Road lobby. This is a drop-in service; no registration required.

  • Saturday, June 24, 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, July 29, 10 a.m.
  • Saturday, August 26, 10 a.m.

Still have questions? Reserve a Tech Expert!

Wish you could have some one-on-one expert advice from one of our Tech Trainers? Now with our Reserve a Tech Expert program, you can! Call us at (216) 932-3600 ext. 1297 or complete our online form at heightslibrary.org/reserve-a-tech-expert to reserve 30 minutes with one of our Tech Trainers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *