The 2012 Edgar Award Nominations

Each year the Mystery Writers of America hand out the Edgar Allan Poe Awards (commonly called The Edgars) for the best in mystery published in the previous year.

The nominations for the best mysteries published or produced in 2011 were recently announced.

The Edgars will be awarded at the 66th Gala Banquet on April 26, 2012.

Interested in one or more of these books? Click the mouse on the book cover to read more about it and order it from your local CLEVNET library.

Best Novel


    • Gone by Mo Hayder





Best First Novel by an American Author






Best Paperback Original




    • Death of the Mantis: A Detective Kubu Mystery by Michael Stanley



Best Short Story

    • Marley’s Revolution” by John C. Boland in Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine


    • Tomorrow’s Dead” by David Dean in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine



    • Lord John and the Plague of Zombies” by Diana Gabaldon in Down These Strange Streets edited by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois



    • The Man Who Took His Hat Off to the Driver of the Train” by Peter Turnbull in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine


Best Fact Crime






Best Critical/Biographical




    • Detecting Women: Gender and the Hollywood Detective Film by Philippa Gates



Best Juvenile




    • Icefall by Matthew J. Kirby


    • The Wizard of Dark Street by Shawn Thomas Odyssey


Best Young Adult



    • The Silence of Murder by Dandi Daley Mackall




Best Television Episode Teleplay



    • “Part 1” – Whitechapel, Teleplay by Ben Court and Caroline Ip




Best Play

    • “Sherlock Holmes and the Adventure of the Suicide Club” by Jeffrey Hatcher (Arizona Theatre Company, Phoenix, AZ)


    • “The Game’s Afoot”by Ken Ludwig (Cleveland Playhouse, Cleveland, OH)


The Simon and Schuster — Mary Higgins Clark Award

(Presented at MWA’s Agents and Editors Party on Wednesday, April 25, 2012)


    • Come and Find Me: A Novel of Suspense by Hallie Ephron





The Robert L Fish Memorial Award

    • A Good Man of Business” by David Ingram in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine


Grand Master

Martha Grimes

Raven Awards

M is For Mystery, San Mateo, CA
Meritorious Mysteries, Molly Weston

The Ellery Queen Award

Joe Meyers, Connecticut Post/Hearst Media News Group

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *